Aebruska State Legislature

SENATOR JONI ALBRECHT

District 17
State Capitol
PO Box 94604
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4604
(402) 471-2716
jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov



COMMITTEES

Chairperson - State-Tribal Relations Revenue Transportation and Telecommunications Committee on Committees

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: July 1, 2021

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Senator Joni Albrecht District 17 State Capitol (402) 471-2716 jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov

Media Release:

State Senators Issue Joint Letter Opposing Nebraska Department of Education Health Standards

LINCOLN - Thirty Nebraska State Senators stand together in support of Resolution for school boards across the state to oppose Nebraska Department of Education's new Health Standards.

Nebraskans have spoken loud and clear—they do not want their children subjected to the Health Education Standards proposed by the Nebraska Department of Education. To our disappointment, despite three months of feedback from parents, the NDE has not been responsive to their objections and concerns.

But Nebraskans can always count on parents and local school boards to take action. The Nebraska State Senators listed below respect parents as the first educators of their children. We therefore call on local school boards in our State to adopt Resolutions to reject the proposed NDE Health Education Standards and retain local control over the content of their health curriculums.

The group includes Senator Julia Slama (LD 1), Senator Robert Clements (LD 2), Senator Robert Hilkemann (LD 4), Senator Mike McDonnell (LD 5), Senator John Arch (LD 14), Senator Ben Hansen (LD 16), Senator Joni Albrecht (LB 17), Senator Brett Lindstrom (LD 18), Senator Mike Flood (LD 19), Speaker Mike Hilgers (LD 21), Senator Mike Moser (LD 22), Senator Bruce Bostelman (LD 23), Senator Suzanne Geist (LD 25), Senator Myron Dorn (LD 30), Senator Rich Pahls (LD 31), Senator Tom Brandt (LD 32), Senator Steve Halloran (LD 33), Senator Curt Friesen (LD 34), Senator Ray Aguilar (LD 35), Senator John Lowe (LD 37), Senator Dave Murman (LD 38), Senator Lou Ann Linehan (LD 39), Senator Tim Gragert (LD 40), Senator Tom Briese (LD 41), Senator Mike Groene (LD 42), Senator Tom Brewer (LD 43), Senator Dan Hughes (LD 44), Senator Rita Sanders (LD 45), Senator Steve Erdman (LD 47), and Senator John Stinner (LD 48).